**New Release - July 2015** Bluesman In A Boneyard

  1. The Damage Was Done
  2. What Is The Soul Of A Man
  3. Boneyard
  4. Going To Brownsville
  5. Balld Of The Boll Weevil
  6. Live Fast
  7. One Way Ticket
  8. From the Heart
  9. Les Bon Temps

Relesed in July 2015, a new collection of 7 originals, two covers. From the N Orleans style blues/tango of Damage Was Done to the cajun-influenced Les Ban Temps, via the poetic Boneyard this album takes you on a journey to the heart of . . .

" . . .stripped back blues full of every emotion, with a true authenticity that fits the 21st century." Liz Aiken - bluesdoodles.com - (UK)

" I am very, very impressed - as I usually am by Guy Tortora's albums." - Paul Jones BBC R2

"Guy Tortora strips back the blues to the bones . . . " Rootstime - Belgium

Prodigal Songs

  1. Big Wheel
  2. Rag Mama Rag
  3. Too Much Stuff
  4. Miss You So
  5. That's Against The Law
  6. Willie Dixon
  7. Quittin' Time
  8. Viola Lee Blues
  9. Wayfaring Stranger
  10. Prodigal Song
Original songs on the album include the opening track Big Wheel where a wistful National guitar gets you heading down the highway. Miss You So is a tense and terse blues, That's Against the Law makes a little nod in the direction of Johnny Cash and Bobby Zimmerman, Willie Dixon is dedicated to the great Chicago bluesman -- and Hero of the Blues -- and is reminiscent of Lowell George and Little Feat, Quitting' Time is a working man's blues, and the heartfelt Prodigal |Song deals with clearing out the house of a parent who has recently passed away. Covers include songs from The Band, Eric Bibb, Canon's Jug Stompers, and the American country spiritual Wayfaring Stranger. "A master songsmith . . . file it under Tortoriana!" Ashwyn Smythe -- Blues Matters!

Living On Credit

  1. Living On Credit
  2. Nobody’s Fault But Mine
  3. Like It That Way
  4. Cotton Was King
  5. God Don’t Change
  6. Mama’s Tired
  7. Super Blue
  8. White Boy Blues
  9. People Get Ready
  10. Sharecroppers
  11. Falling
  12. Don’t Do It
Released in 2009, this album brought a slight change of style, aided by the hard hitting harp playing of Giles King (of Hokie Joint) on the title track and also on Cotton Was King, a song that’s begging to be run over the closing credits of a movie that hasn’t been made yet. The lyrical Like It That Way and the slow swing of White Boy Blues boast the superb playing of Guy Tortora Band keysman Janos Bajtala. Covers of songs from the likes of Blind Willie Johnson to J J Cale, Curtis Mayfield and Rick Estrin round out a set containing the musical contributions also of talented drummers Mike Thorne and Mark Fletcher, Richard Studholme on mandolin, and bv’s by the UK Family Jewels: Frankie & Bex.

Jefferson Drive

  1. My Town
  2. No Substitute
  3. Good Morning Mrs T.
  4. Two Fried Eggs
  5. Ain’t Nobody’s Business
  6. Two Wrongs
  7. Done Got Over
  8. Watch Over Me
  9. Long Time Blue
  10. Early In the Morning
  11. Sometimes She Cries
  12. Blues Take Me Home
Released in 2004, contains many originals inspired, it seems, by memories of life and times in Pasadena, Ca and elsewhere. The songs range in subject matter, like a series of snapshots, or scenes glimpsed through the window of a moving car, framed with wry humor and strong melodies. Ranging from the rootsy "traintime" rhythm of My Town, through the subtle funk of Good Morning Mrs T, to the Mississippi chorus ending of Blues Take Me Home, the album was recorded in the Tonezone Studio of co-producer Richard Studholme, who has recorded albums for Eric Bibb, Donovan, Hubert Sumlin and others.

Footnote to the Blues

  1. Long Slow Blues
  2. Hallowed Ground
  3. I Need A Car
  4. Late Starter
  5. I heard It Through The Grapevine
  6. Did Somebody Make a Fool Of You
  7. Love Nor Money
  8. Tough Love
  9. Crossroads Blues
  10. Sanctified Love
  11. Going Down Slow (Pt II)
From 2002. This is definitely not an album of run-of-the- mill blues, and made a good first impression on the UK scene. This CD contains many fine songs, inc. I Need A Car, one of Guy’s originals (and often requested at acoustic performances) played solo on bottleneck guitar; also an outstanding solo interpretation of the Motown classic I Heard It Through The Grapevine, and a sideways look at Robert Johnson’s Crossroads Blues played solo on electric slide.